Bluestocking Press

The Money Mystery

  • Sale
  • $10.49
  • Regular price $12.95
  • 8 available

The Money Mystery further expands on the economic model presented in Whatever Happened to Penny Candy?

The Money Mystery explains the hidden force effecting your career, business, and investments. Some economics refer to this force as velocity, others to money demand. Whichever term is used, it is one of the least understood forces affecting your life. Knowing about velocity and money demand not only gives you an understanding of history that few others have, it prepares you to understand and avoid pitfalls in your career, business, and investments.

During the 1980s the velocity of circulation of the dollar became erratic; now the whole country is affected. The Money Mysteryexplains why Federal Reserve officials remain so afraid of inflation, explains precautions you should take, and explains the wild swings in the stock market.

Using the epistolary style of writing (using letters to tell a story), Mr. Maybury plays the part of an economist (Uncle Eric) writing a series of letters to his niece or nephew (Chris). Using stories and examples, Mr. Maybury gives interesting and clear explanations of topics that are generally thought to be too difficult for anyone but experts.

Mr. Maybury warns, "beware of anyone who tells you a topic is above you or better left to experts. Many people are twice as smart as they think they are, but they've been intimidated into believing some topics are above them. You can understand almost anything if it is explained well."

The Money Mystery is the first sequel to Whatever Happened to Penny Candy? and provides essential background for getting the most from The Clipper Ship Strategy: For Success in Your Career, Business and Investments.


Paperback.  110 pages, quality paper, 8.5 x 5.5 inches.

Reading level: Ages 14 through Adult.

Course Uses:  Can be used for courses in Economics, Business, Finance, Government and History.

Corresponding student study guide: A Bluestocking Guide: Solving the Money Mystery

Series Information: The Money Mystery is part of the 11 book series: Uncle Eric's Model of How The World Works.
Though there is a recommended order of reading for the series, the books can be read in any order, and each have been written to stand alone.

Table of Contents for The Money Mystery

Uncle Eric's Model of How the World Works
Study Guide Available
Author's Disclosure
Fable of the Frog

1. The Financial Panic of 1980
2. A Shot of Inflation
3. Misleading Propaganda
4. The French Example
5. Stage Two Inflation
6. Khomeini
7. The Grain Embargo
8. Ramifications of the Panic of 1980
9. The Gloom-and-Doomers
10. Two Important Questions
11. The Financial Hair-Trigger
12. Federal Reserve Behavior
13. Another Important Lesson
14. The Lesson of the 1987 Crash
15. What You Can Do About It
16. Summary
17. The Velocity Demon Updated
18. A New, or Very Old, Form of Inflation